Virat Kohli the indian batsman who make a record of fastest 7000 ODI runs during the third ODI against Australia at the MCG. Kohli, in 161 innings, broke AB de Villiers record of reaching there in 166 innings.

Kohli came to the 7000-run mark with a look to the limit at fine leg from the knocking down some pins of James Faulkner. On Sunday, against Australia at the Melbourne Cricket Ground Kohli make this record.

Before AB and Kohli, Sourav Ganguly was the fastest with 174 innings. Others on the list are Brian Lara (183), Desmond Haynes (187) and Jacques Kallis (188). Kohli is unrealistic to hold the record for long, with South Africa’s Hashim Amla right now on 6,008 keeps running from 121 innings.

The indian captain MS Dhoni 52.01, the west indies star AB de Villiers 51.23  and now Virat Kohli 51.10* are the only batsmen with 50+ batting average when they only crossed 7000 ODI runs. Later in the day, Kohli also completed his 24th ODI ton, becoming the fastest to the milestone.

Kohli held the record for the quickest player to 5,000 and 6,000 runs, just for Amla to break both those imprints.

The list of top 10 fastest to 7,000 ODI runs, including current limited-overs skipper MS Dhoni and India’s leading run scorer in ODIs, Sachin Tendulkar. There are also three West Indians in the list, led by Brian Lara, who achieved it in 183 innings.

There are also two South Africans, with the other being Jacques and a solitary Australian in former captain Ricky Ponting, who occupies the 10th spot.

The complete list of the 10 fastest to 7,000 ODI runs
1 Virat Kohli (India)                          161 Australia Melbourne 2016
2 AB de Villiers (South Africa)        166 Australia Perth 2014
3 Sourav Ganguly (India)                 174 Kenya Paarl 2001
4 Brian Lara (West Indies)              183 South Africa St George’s 2001
5 Desmond Haynes (West Indies) 187 India Adelaide 1991
6 Jacques Kallis (South Africa)      188 Sri Lanka Colombo (RPS) 2004
7 Sachin Tendulkar (India)             189 Sri Lanka Colombo (RPS) 1998
8 Chris Gayle (West Indies)            189 New Zealand Napier 2009
9 MS Dhoni (India)                          189 Pakistan Chennai 2012
10 Ricky Ponting (Australia)          192 Sri Lanka Dambulla 2004

(Visited 664 times, 1 visits today)