The United Kingdom (UK) is an educated country. The education system in UK is different from others nations. The education system in UK is normally classified into four unique parts, primary education, secondary education, further education and the higher education. Primary Education is mandatory for all children between the ages of 5 to 16 in the Northern Ireland age begins from 4. Children in the UK have a great opportunity to attend primary and secondary education which runs from about 5 years old until 16 years old. The govt. made compulsory Primary and Secondary education for all, but at the same time higher education are not mandatory.

Primary Education

The education system in UK starts from primary stage which covers three age ranges: nursery which age under 5, infant which age 5 to 7 or 8 (Key Stage 1) and junior which age up to 11 or 12 (Key Stage 2) but on the other hand in Scotland and Northern Ireland there is generally no distinction between infant and junior schools. Primary education normally starts at beginning age of five years old and that will continues to eleven years old. At this stage, teachers normally studies all the topics pupils learn and are in charge of a particular Year class. In Primary level of education covers the major 1 and 2 key stages. In the year 1, phonics screening test and in the year two. Teachers emphasize on English, math’s general science.

Secondary School

According to the education system in UK, Secondary education begins from age of 11 which end at the age of 16, students will enter secondary school for key stages three and four. The Primary and secondary level of education is compulsory in the UK; after age 16, higher education is optional.

In Northern Ireland, post-primary education consists of 5 compulsory years and two further years if students wish to remain in school to pursue post GCSE / Level 2courses to Level 3. Ministerial policy is that transfer should be on the basis of nonacademic criteria.

Secondary education follows on directly from Primary education. It covers Key Stages 3 and 4, and in every students sit exams which is called GCSEs (General Certificate of Secondary Education) at the end of Secondary education. Students have the opportunity to finish their education or not of choose to enter workplace, or continue to Further education. Unlike Primary education, bases of the education system in UK teachers are teach one or two specific sub. Within two years. The table below shows all of the information above by age.Capture

Further Education

After completing the primary and secondary stage of compulsory education at the age of sixteen, many students continue with education and in this stage a student can stop its study, normally either in a school which has a sixth from, or in a separate Further Education or sixth form college. Students can apply for full time work or volunteering which combines with part time education or training, such as an apprenticeship. They have the opportunity to choose from a range of qualifications, the most common being the GCE Advanced level, or A Level.

Higher Education

According to the education system in Uk, the student who passed the Further Education stage, he or she has the opportunity to choose higher study or not. Adults of eighteen or over can progress to higher education if they fulfill the overall condition, but it is not compulsory. Higher education refers a student to study undertaken in universities, colleges or professional schools. In higher study there are three main levels of HE course:

(i) Postgraduate courses leading to higher degrees, diplomas and certificates

(including Doctorate, Masters (research and taught).

(ii) Undergraduate courses which include first degrees (honours and ordinary).

(iii) Other undergraduate courses which include all other higher education courses,

for example SVQ or NVQ: Level 5, Diploma (HNC/D level for diploma and degree



(Visited 7 times, 1 visits today)

About The Author

Related Posts